Thorvald Hansen - Brass Quintet

Mogens Andresen
| /

Thorvald Hansen - Brass Quintet

Thorvald Hansen ( 1847 - 1915 ) held the position as solo trumpet in The Royal Danish Orchestra from 1884 to 1915. He was regarded not only as the most famous Danish trumpet player of his time, but also as the leading brass player in Scandinavia. Mr. Hansen was a very busy man, beside his high standard trumpet playing, he was an organ player, filling in for J.P.E. Hartmann i Frue Kirke ( Denmark ), and assistent conductor for Georg Lumbye in the Tivoli Concert Hall, where he held a position as Viola player. Furthermore, he was a composer - writing a Sonata, a Concert Waltz and a Scherzo for Trumpet/Cornet and Piano.

In 1904, he was asked by the Nightman association ( Natmandsforeningen - a gathering of influencial and wealthy men, who treasured late night concerts with esteemed musicians ) to compose a piece for the Royal Danish Brass players. Mr. Hansen accepted this an an honour, and wrote his Brass Quartet for 2 Trumpets and 2 Trombones.



This piece has now been re-arranged by Mogens Andresen to Brass Quintet - Mogens is a highly gifted arranger and Composer with a long career as Bass Trombone player in the Royal Danish Orchestra, and professor at the Royal Danish School of Music in Copenhagen.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes :

  • Score ( 44 pages )
  • 1. Part Trumpet in Bb
  • 2. Part Trumpet in Bb
  • 3. Part French Horn - parts for Horn in Eb and Alto Trombone included.
  • 4. Part Trombone in bass clef - Treble Clef part included.
  • 5. Part Tuba - can be played by Bass Trombone or Euphonium as well.