Holst - Songs of the West - Brass Ensemble

Brass Music Online
| /

Songs of the West - by Gustav Holst ( 1874 - 1943 ) - arranged for Brass ensemble by Fredrick Lange.

Gustav Holst has a special place in the development of the Concert Band and its repertoire. His first and second suites were among the first serious works for the medium, although Grainger, Walton and Vaughan Williams were active at the same time.The British approach to orchestration is characterized by clarity of texture and a linear approach to much of the writing. Thus it was quite natural for composers to choose to use folk songs for material. “Songs of the West” is a companion piece to “A Somerset Rhapsody.” The pair were written in 1906/1907 and based on songs collected in the West of England.

This arrangement for 10-part Brass Choir calls for Eb Trumpet and Flugelhorn to round out the ensemble.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes:

  • Score ( 44 pages )
  • Trumpet 1 in Eb
  • Flugelhorn 
  • 2. Trumpet in Bb
  • 3. Trumpet in Bb
  • Horn in F
  • 1. Trombone in bass clef
  • 2. Trombone in bass clef
  • Trombone 3 ( with F-attachment ) in bass clef
  • Bass Trombone in bass clef
  • Tuba in bass clef
92 pages.