Borodin - Polovtsian Dances - Brass Ensemble

Daniel Drage
| /

Polovtsian Dances by Alexander Borodin (1833-1887) - Arranged for Brass Ensemble by Daniel Drage.

The Polovtsian Dances, or Polovetsian Dances form an exotic scene in Alexander Borodin's long opera Prince Igor. The work remained unfinished when the composer died in 1887, although he had worked on it for more than a decade. A performing version was prepared by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and Alexander Glazunov, appearing in 1890. Several other versions, or "completions," of the opera have been made. The dances are originally performed with chorus and last between 11 and 14 minutes. Their music is popular and very often given in concert. At such performances the choral parts are often omitted. Daniel Drage has made a fantastic arrangement of these dances - the score alone is 82 pages, and will be a challenge for any brass ensemble, and a thrill for any audience.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes :

  • Score (82 pages)
  • Piccolo Trumpet part in Bb
  • 2 Trumpet parts in Bb
  • 2 Cornet parts in Bb
  • 3. Cornet/Flugelhorn part in Bb
  • 2 French Horn parts
  • 2 Trombone parts in tenor clef
  • Bass Trombone part in bass clef
  • Euphonim part in Bb treble clef
  • 2 Tuba parts in bass clef
  • 2 Percussion parts