Bach - Wachet Auf - Brass Choir

Frederick Lange
| /

Wachet Auf (ruft uns die Stimme), by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Arranged for Brass Choir by Fredrick Lange.

Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, also known as Sleepers Wake, is the fourth movement of Bach's church cantata BWV 140. He composed the chorale cantata in Leipzig for the 27th Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on November 25, 1731. It is based on the hymn Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (1599) by Philipp Nicolai. The work, based on the second verse of the chorale, is written in the style of a chorale prelude, with the phrases of the chorale, sung as a cantus firmus by the tenors (here, the trombone choir), entering intermittently against a famously lyrical melody played in unison by the violins (trumpet choir). Bach later transcribed this movement for organ (BWV 645), and it was subsequently published along with five other transcriptions Bach made of his cantata movements as the Schübler Chorales. This arrangement calls for an accomplished Piccolo Trumpet player with a range to concert Eb.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes :

  • Score
  • Piccolo Trumpet in Bb
  • Trumpet 1 in Bb
  • Trumpet 2 in Bb
  • Trumpet 3 in Bb
  • Horn 1 in F
  • Horn 2 in F
  • Trombone 1
  • Trombone 2
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba in Bass clef
21 pages