Asmussen - Oh, What a Day - Symphonic Brass

Drage - Andresen Music
| /

Oh, What a Happy Day! (What a Happy, Happy Day) by Svend Asmussen, arranged for Symphonic Brass section by Mogens Andresen and Daniel Drage.

A little about the composer : Svend Asmussen is a jazz violinist from Denmark, known as "The Fiddling Viking". Asmussen grew up in a musical family, starting violin lessons at age 7. At age 16 he first heard recordings by jazz violin great Joe Venuti and began to emulate his style. He started working professionally as a violinist, vibraphonist, and singer at age 17, leaving his formal training behind for good. In the late 1950s, Asmussen formed the trio Swe-Danes with singer Alice Babs and guitarist Ulrik Neumann. The group became very popular in Scandinavia for their music hall style entertainment and also toured the United States. Asmussen also worked with Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton, and Duke Ellington. Asmussen was invited by Ellington to play on his Jazz Violin Session recording in 1963 with Stéphane Grappelli and Ray Nance. Mogens and Daniel has done a phenomenal job with this arrangement! Very suitable for any Concert venue, and surely will leave a smile and a tappy foot, wherever it is heard.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes :

  • Score (28 pages)
  • 4 Trumpet parts in Bb
  • 4 Horn parts in F
  • 3 Trombone parts in bass clef
  • Tuba part in bass clef
  • Drumset part
  • Conga drums part
  • Vibraphone part
  • Glockenspiel part