Mogens Andresen
| /

Canon by Johann Pachelbel - arranged for Brass Ensemble by Mogens Andresen.

This product is available for digital download only - the item includes :

  • Score (28 pages)
  • Piccolo Trumpet part in Bb
  • Trumpet/Cornet part in Eb
  • Trumpet part in Bb
  • 2 Cornet parts in Bb
  • 2 French Horn parts
  • Alto Trombone part
  • Tenor Trombone part
  • Bass Trombone part
  • Euphonium part in treble Bb
  • Tuba part
  • 2 Percussion parts

Pachelbel was and organ player and composer, he was working in several places in Germany. Pachelbel wrote more than 500 pieces over his lifetime. He was a prolific organist in his hometown of Nuremburg, and even taught the man who became Bach’s teacher.

His most famous piece, his Canon, is one of the most famous classical pieces in the world. It was originally written for 3 violins, accompanied by a bass line. The piece has been arranged and re-composed in countless variations through time, and the piece has been used in a great number of movies and TV productions as background music.

This particular arrangement has solistic sections for all parts, and all the brass groups in the ensemble has solis. Thus it is a very catchy way to introduce all of the instruments used in the ACADEMIC BRASS SERIES.

The oldest surviving copy of Johann Pachelbel's "Canon 1680, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin